Everyone Loves an Engaged Couple

It’s been interesting to see the reaction the past few months to the newfound status of my Guy and I.

Friends, family, colleagues, and random strangers seem instantly delighted when they hear anything related to our path to “making it official.”

People buy us champagne toasts
People gush at what a beautiful/handsome couple we are
People call us out at events with well-wishes
People give us all sorts of advice (especially older people 🙂 )
People share their proposal and wedding stories
People volunteer to help us out in this way or that
People let our small annoyances go (thank goodness for that lol)
People generally just beam at us with big smiles and dreamy eyes

With all of the work and stress involved in making things permanent… it’s nice to get the constant cheerleader support of others to remind one why it’s worth it.

….

So my Guy was actually discouraged from making things official by some of his anti-marriage friends (and jealous girls who stalk him, lol).  I find the experience he went through in the context of the MRM/MRA along with PUA crowd’s arguments against marriage today very interesting. Especially since he clearly has options – although he has shared why I was the One of course too. 🙂

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Everyone Loves an Engaged Couple”

  1. Firepower Says:

    an indian maiden is a dusky, exotic flower – ripe of forbidden fruit. When married, she is a to-do list creator – tormentor of her neices.

    you are ruined.

    Baghvad Gita 30.21.e

  2. lovelysexybeauty Says:

    LOL. To do lists…hm… I think it starts before though. All that planning… and the expenses too *sigh*. And getting everyone to get along… story about that forthcoming

  3. Girl Tips from Boy Game: The Social Proposal « LovelySexyBeauty: adventures in love, enchantment, & beauty Says:

    […] So after the proposal, I was happy… but my mild shock along with fatigue (long story related to events before the proposal) made me… mm… well… not in the mood for hot passion if you know what I mean. (And dare I say the aforementioned “Beta” type behavior sort of turned off the tingle faucet… I tried to turn them back on myself but I was so overwhelmed by the attention from him and others.) […]

Leave a Reply

